adiaforon

Not essential to the faith

Manosphere Movie: Pink Floyd’s The Wall

Cover of "Pink Floyd The Wall"

The Wall evokes mixed feelings in people, it seems. I remember when the movie came out in 1982, but I was too young to care to see it. And my parents would have prevented me from seeing it, since they took R ratings seriously back then and followed up on their threats to keep me from seeing thing that would have “corrupted” me. Probably a good thing, too, as I wouldn’t have understood it anyway.

Oh, but I certainly heard “Another Brick in the Wall” and “Run Like Hell” enough on the radio in the ensuing years!

The first time I heard someone talk about The Wall was in 1989. My first year of college, and the guy told me that The Wall only made sense when you were stoned. Uh-huh. Interesting point. Then, in the mid-90s, the woman I was dating at the time told me that she and her one college boyfriend used to see it from time to time because it was a bonding experience for them. Not quite sure why, but it’s not hard to see how youthful confusion leads to finding some form of popular culture to latch on to, to fill out the gaps in one’s life with prefabricated meaning. Both descriptions left me a bit confused about what the hell The Wall was about. But, it wasn’t until 1997 when I saw it for the first time on video.

I’ve even met some who shudder when I mention The Wall because it brings up painful and disturbing memories of times when they were, say, into drugs, or who knew people who offed themselves from listening to it. (And then I wondered why Dark Side of the Moon and Animals, which are more pointed in discussing existential issues, didn’t evoke the same reactions.)

When I saw it, I remember thinking, “Ah . . . the story of a guy who was badly in need of some psychotherapy.” Now, in the context of the ‘sphere, I think, “Ah . . . the story of a guy who was badly in need of some male guidance.”

As with any text or media form, there’s always interpretation. You come away with your own thoughts and feelings about what you read or heard or saw, and this will differ from person to person. When I saw The Wall, it seemed rather straightforward. Later on, I came upon a very good interpretation online.

In future posts, I’ll be taking each song of The Wall and applying my own thoughts about the song and how each can be applied to the Manosphere. Should be fun.

Enhanced by Zemanta
5 responses to “Manosphere Movie: Pink Floyd’s The Wall

  1. meistergedanken March 7, 2013 at 11:55 am

    I used to be a huge Pink Floyd fan. In high school my friends and I even performed ‘Comfortably Numb’ in a talent show, but I didn’t actually see the film until it was shown on my college campus around 1991. It was quite powerful, but not something I would like to revisit. Many people say that the angst expressed in that album is something that most of us totally identify with while in our teens, but then we grow up and just don’t “feel” things with the same “keen-ness” as we age, and I think that this is true (the longing inherent in your first love, and so on). So I only have “Dark Side of the Moon” in my CD collection now. ‘The Wall’ is, let’s face it, Roger Water’s baby from start to finish, and it’s pretty clear that for him (and the character of ‘Pink” in the album) everything was derailed from the first when the father is killed on the beaches of Dunkirk during WWII. Some ‘male guidance’ during childhood would have certainly corraled the angst. And as a child of divorce, 80’s-style, I can definitely sympathize with that.

  2. meistergedanken March 11, 2013 at 7:50 am

    I remember a soldier being gunned down on a beach in the movie [especially since the Luftwaffe was still using Stukas in combat at that time, and I don’t think they were used in the Italian theater], so I must have assumed it was Dunkirk.

    But just to clarify, Dunkirk WAS WW11, not WWI. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dunkirk_evacuation

    It looks like you aren’t interested in cultivating dialogue on this blog, so I’ll call it a day.

    • adiaforon March 11, 2013 at 10:56 pm

      My mistake with Dunkirk. Late-night fact checking sometimes isn’t a good idea.

      As to further dialogue, if you take offense at a simple correction I made, which was not made with malicious intent, then I, too, will call it a day with you — before it even started. You’ve provided me with fodder for my next male friendship post.

  3. meistergedanken March 13, 2013 at 7:54 am

    You have misconstrued me. I did not say I was offended. It was merely a simple statement that I had concluded that commenting here didn’t look like it would be worth my time. Most people would just not say anything and discontinue reading.

    You must know that the basis of any successful social interaction is reciprocity. I lead a fairly busy professional life, but on any given day I read a lot of blogs that are part of my regular “roster”, and comment on some of them if I think I can contribute substantively. I don’t “do” drive-by comments. Posting comments is an investment of sorts – I hope that the time I spend reading the initial post, giving it the thought it duly deserves and crafting a cogent response, results in at the very least a worthwhile exchange of ideas that justifies the opportunity cost, because clearly if I take the time to comment here, then I am not commenting somewhere else. Does that make sense to you?

    I assume you want your blog to develop and grow, and presumably this would involve gathering readers and fostering dialogue with them. I know when I write something and someone bothers to comment on it, I always reply within two days, and meaningfully address what they have written [at least the first time]. That’s just decent etiquette, something which perhaps should be stressed more.

    Maybe because you are new to blogging you fail to comprehend your Fail in this regard. Indeed, a cursory review of your output indicates that I am your first [and sole?] commenter. Here is a perfect illustration to edify you: one of your other posts mentions Nietszche and Schopenhauer, which happen to be two of my favorite philosophers. Now, the former’s ideas have been discussed to death, but I feel Schopenhauer merits some more exposure and so I immediately thought, “hey, when I get home from work I will take my 102-year old copy of Schopenhauer’s observations on Art and Culture off the shelf and reacquaint myself with its contents (since I haven’t read it in 3 or 4 years) and post something here tomorrow that maybe will spark something interesting.” Well, I think it would suck if I go through the effort of doing this and you never even bother to reply or acknowledge the comment. But it would suck even more if you DO respond, but only four days later and simply say something like, “FYI, you spelled Schopenhauer wrong.” Seriously? Do you understand the disappointment now? Why would I bother engaging you further?

    Even now, I am taking a nice chunk of time by offering this explanation. I am at work, and I should be currently working on a cost estimate for a proposal for a client. But I am writing THIS, not because I am “butthurt” but because I think you have the potential of an insightful, productive blog here, and I want you to succeed. And so rather than just cease commenting and vanishing, as is typical, I am candidly pointing out that if you want a readership, then it must be nurtured (at least initially).

    And yet, you insinuate that I am petty. Please think about THAT if this matter still inspires you to write further on the topic of friendship. Good Luck.

Leave a Reply

Henry Dampier

On the outer right side of history

Bloody shovel

Don't call it a spade

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Adventures in Red Pill Wifery

A First Officer's Log

Renard Moreau Presents

Cool Miscellaneous Thoughts

Kingdom of Introversion

The World according to the 'introvert' and the 'nerd'

There Is No Game

It is not the game that changes, it is only yourself.

Mike Cernovich Presents Danger & Play

For those who want more out of life.

insideawomansmind

An honest, uncensored woman's state of mind.

Stares at the World

The Kingdom of Heaven is spread out upon the Earth, and men see it not.

Captain Capitalism

Not essential to the faith

Krauser PUA

An international man of mystery

Free Northerner

Iron Sharpens Iron

The Spearhead

Piercing the Shield of Ignorance

Thumotic

A community for men with the fighting spirit

Society of Amateur Gentlemen

The True Inheritance of Western Culture

Owning Your Shit

Not essential to the faith

