adiaforon

Not essential to the faith

Un-college

I’ve spoken before about autodidactism, something that I’ve done more or less instinctively since around age 20, when, in order for me to feel that I had prepared myself in philosophy, I had to hit the books in the library and skip some classes that were of no value to me (e.g., Jacques Maritain). It took me four more years to leave that field and do something else, but at least I had started that habit.

Now, it looks like someone has taken it mainstream.

Honestly, it comes at a good time. If I were 20 again and living in today’s age, I sure as hell would be utilizing the Net for all its worth, especially YouTube. Yours Truly doesn’t own a TV and spends a lot of his time on the Net both at work and at home. (Too much of a homebody — gotta work on that.) Not only do I watch operas and other classical music performances, but the TED talks, ForaTV, lectures, tutorials for certifications, etc. are a gold mine. Hacking my education is something I surely would be doing now. The means to do it exist, unlike in the early 90s, when I was still stuck in the mindset that one had to go to college and get a degree to join the “real world.” Old habits died hard for me. But, around 30, things cleared up.

I like Stephens’s mention of a gap year in San Francisco. It’s a formalized approach to something that Brits, Aussies, Kiwis, and many other Europeans have been doing for many years, as a matter of course. Shame that we’ve never done it here in the US. But, then again, we’re also the land of the workaholics who take little time off and enjoy numbing ourselves with TV, etc. I did my own gap year equivalent in Asia teaching English. I learned so much about myself during that time and would do it again if I were the same age. But, it was a little late in coming.

He also mentions Ivan Illich in his list of recommended reading. Illich is always a good read, more so nowadays with the plethora of institutions we have.

You begin the path to being who you can truly be when you un-school and un-college. Refer to my original mantra:

“You spend the first 20 years of your life living to someone else’s script. You spend the next 20 years deconstructing, until you reach 40 and then ‘life begins.”

One response to “Un-college

  1. Tia April 24, 2013 at 1:12 pm

    Un-schooling and un-college only works for the intellectually curious who will in fact school and college themselves. Otherwise I know a number of “home schooled” and “un schooled” kids who are now becoming young adults and they are dumb as bricks.

    Their (mostly single) parents let them sit on their asses all day, hang out, paint the occasional skate board, and called it “home schooling” as they railed against the “system”.

    Then you’ve got the ones who just blatantly call it “un schooling” which is more honest, but they also think they are raisin little geniuses.

    They’ve obviously never heard of regression to the mean.

    If someone is going to home school or “un-school” their kids or themselves, they should do it right and actually DO SOMETHING.

Leave a Reply

Henry Dampier

On the outer right side of history

Bloody shovel

Don't call it a spade

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

Adventures in Red Pill Wifery

A First Officer's Log

Renard Moreau Presents

Cool Miscellaneous Thoughts

Kingdom of Introversion

The World according to the 'introvert' and the 'nerd'

There Is No Game

It is not the game that changes, it is only yourself.

Mike Cernovich Presents Danger & Play

For those who want more out of life.

insideawomansmind

An honest, uncensored woman's state of mind.

Stares at the World

The Kingdom of Heaven is spread out upon the Earth, and men see it not.

Captain Capitalism

Not essential to the faith

Krauser PUA

An international man of mystery

Free Northerner

Iron Sharpens Iron

The Spearhead

Piercing the Shield of Ignorance

Thumotic

A community for men with the fighting spirit

Society of Amateur Gentlemen

The True Inheritance of Western Culture

Owning Your Shit

Not essential to the faith

